h1

Remembering what is important

February 3, 2010

In the midst of the chaos, the late nights, the miscommunications, the negotiations, the family expectations, the planning, the homework and great amounts of effort to stay afloat…. I need to remember what it’s all about.  Joining my life with Joe.  The wedding is just a day, the marriage is forever.

Here is a great article from the New York Times by Elizabeth Weil called Married (Happily) With Issues.  I feel like she does a great job talking about the effort that it takes to maintain a marriage.  Often I feel like marriage is reduced to a fairy tale day with all the right decorations and food items and handmade objects.  It’s good to remember what it is all about and what I am getting myself into, and to concentrate my efforts on preparing my heart for this major life change.

Leave a Reply

