h1

Cheap flower alternatives

February 4, 2010

Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine flowers could be so expensive!  Never!  I put 150 bucks on my budget thinking that would get me a bunch of variety bulk flowers.  I was totally off.  150 bucks can buy me like 80 stems of ONE flower.  Geez.

The only reason I’m into flowers is that they are pretty, natural and disposable.  But truth is, they will die… so why spend so much freaking money?

I asked my florist friend Audre about doing my own floral arrangements.  She suggested we make a run to the grocery store or local farmer’s market before the wedding, or find seasonal stuff by the side of the road (I love this idea, because I love Tiger Lilies which often line midwestern highways in midsummer).  I also really like Audre, so hopefully I will get her to write a few posts about arranging and prepping your own flowers, either bulk or market bought.

Another idea I am interested in is incorporating dried flowers or paper flowers into the mix. Another idea I had is asking local MO friends to plant flowers for me in the spring that I can harvest this summer.  Is this a common practice?  Wedding gardens?  I’d love thoughts on this.

If you’re dying to do bulk, here is a site that was recommended by a Missouri friend.  Sam’s Club (shudder, I know… but it’s cheap) also does bulk floral, who knew?  And lastly the Springfield, MO farmer’s market guide if anyone else is looking for local flowers this summer.

5 comments

  1. For my sisters wedding we made paper flowers, mostly just to supplement the fresh flowers she used for the bouquets and such. We all sat around the dining table making them the weekend before which was a nice way to spend some quality time with out of town guests and family. I think she used a template from Marthat Stewart weddings, I tried to find the one we used but it was so long ago I don’t remember, but I did find some other really pretty templates on her website as well as some unconventional flower options such as clovers or ferns. Good luck! I love checking in on your planning progress, it’s going to be a beautiful wedding.


  2. Aww, Maia! Thanks for reading! I love this suggestion of doing a project like this with loved ones. The whole point of the wedding is to celebrate with friends and family, and this would be such a fun way for people to be involved and hang out together! Definitely let me know if you find those templates of if you have any other ideas!
    shelby


  3. Here’s the link to my favorite flowers I found from just doing a search for “paper flowers” on Marthastewart.com http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/goodthings/big-blooms-on-a-small-budget?backto=true&backtourl=/photogallery/spring-good-things#slide_4
    I’ll make sure to ask my sister next time I talk to her where she found the template or idea for the ones we did for her wedding.


  4. oooh, I just found this lookbook of paper and fabric flowers with how-to’s. Some of the fabric flowers are especially gorgeous.
    http://www.marthastewartweddings.com/photogallery/paper-and-fabric-flowers


    • Thanks Maia!



Leave a Reply

