h1

The Dreaded Registry

March 4, 2010

It is an honor that our guests would want to give us gifts to help set up our new home (we have pretty much nothing).  But I really want to be able to actually appreciate these gifts.  I want to look around my home and think of the person who was kind enough to think of me.

So the fact of the matter is: we could really use some help setting up our home, and a registry is an efficient, organized way for guests to know what we like or need. I think the main thing I hate about registries and showers is the anonymous pile of gifts and the awkward ceremony of being watched as you open toasters and toilet paper holders.

It makes me feel like this:

I hope I don’t sound ungrateful.  Instead of a shower I would rather have a party with loved ones and celebrate together, not open kitchen items and have to act excited about everything.  Don’t get me wrong… I would be really honored and humbled to receive gifts and will respond sincerely and genuinely. I just don’t want there to be all these weird expectations and rules and ceremonies around them.

Leave a Reply

